Go Back Jack & Do It Again

FullSizeRender

Meet Oreo, shop dog and quality control manager.  He’s inspecting my work and judging my progress on the great blanket redo that I’ve undertaken.  The blanket on the right is the original, inexplicably crocheted 12 ft long by me many years ago for my then preschool age son.  I accidentally made him a shroud instead of a blanket.  Or maybe I thought he was going to be 10 ft tall?  Go ahead and laugh, its totally ridiculous.  Actually, wait for the real punchline.  Ready?  I have two sons and not wanting anyone to feel less loved, I made a second blanket the exact same size.  My only defense is that I was really sleep deprived back then.

The blanket on the left is the redo, a little more than 6ft long, for the same son to take to college this fall.  If you hang around for a year with me on this blog, you’ll get to see progress reports on the second rip out and redo for my younger son’s blanket.  The moral of the story is, I am always learning as a maker and I am not afraid to rip it all out and try again, even if it takes a few years.

Lately, the twists and turns in my life as a maker who sells her work have been catching me a little off guard.  Sometimes I find it hard to fathom the way things can shift into or out of place in just a few days.  At times I’m just left wondering, should I or shouldn’t I?  Is this an opportunity or a trap?  I’ve got quite a collection of possibilities before me this week, which is awesome,  and a truckload of decisions to make, which is stressful.

I listened to episode 54 of the Have Company Podcast, which I always find inspiring, but this time I felt like Marlee and her guest, Sarah Schulweis, were speaking directly to me.  It was such a well timed episode for me.  The conversation about different ways to organize, carving out time chunks to get things done, managing distractions, the need for self care… Go listen to the episode rather than listening to me rhapsodize about it.

FullSizeRender_1

Another source of inspiration this past week has come from the book, The Handmade Marketplace, How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally and Online by Kari Chapin.  This has become my morning reading.  I like the way it sets the tone of my day.

 

IMG_2592

On the agenda for this weekend is the Twin Tiers Mini Maker Faire.  I am delighted to say that I am actually prepared for this.  I even remembered to find something to hold my business cards.  There will be no last minute panic attack Friday evening as I try to pull everything together.  Maybe I am learning something?

Now I’m off to make some of those decisions.  Wish me luck!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

